1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Post threshold requirements to do extra

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by nasreen1968, Nov 24, 2015.

1. nasreen1968

nasreen1968 New commenter

Hi
    I just want some advice. I'm in a lovely school and have a TLR 2b for phase leader as well as maths co ordinator. I'm also on UP1, however I've been told by my leadership team that I need to run a club or do extra as I am a post threshold teacher. i have explained that I physically cannot fit anything else. I work up to 12 hours a day and leave exhausted each day. Running a club would take up to 2 hours additional hours a week.
    I was told that this was a government requirement not from the school that any teacher on UP was required to do more for the wider school, which I feel i am doing as part of my TLR.
    I am hardworking and am putting long hours in with impact on my work life balance. I feel anything else would force me out of teaching.
    I would like to know whether this is happening in other schools.

2. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

What a load of rubbish. It is not a requirement of the STPCD that post-threshold teachers 'run a club': contributing to the wider school is open to interpretation and your SLT have decided to make up a fairy tale. I bet your school's Pay Policy doesn't specify that 'wider contribution' means 'run a club' - make sure you have a copy of it.

nasreen1968 and FolkFan like this.
  3. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

STPCD 2015 page 22 (my bold)

15. Application to be paid on the upper pay range