1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Possibly coming back to the UK

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by andrewboulind, Dec 13, 2015.

1. andrewboulind

andrewboulind New commenter

Dear Theo:

I am a bit lost at the moment as to what might be the best way forward. I have been teaching for almost 25 years with 20 of those in Spain, In international, British and Spanish Schools. I have also taught back in the UK in independent Preparatory Schools for 5 years. As I am sure you know Spain has gone through a pretty bad recession in the last few years, with my wife and I lucky enough to have been in paid employment in Spanish Schools.

We are at point where our eldest child is about to go to University (We have 3 children, 17.15 and 9). Job prospects are poor here in Spain for graduates and we ourselves are unable to improve our current salaries due to wage cuts and the Spanish teacher's wage structure.

We are contemplating coming back to to the UK, Either England or Scotland (where I am from). I have QTS and my wife is a Spanish Primary School teacher. I have begun applying for posts for next year, and had one interview so far. We are both 48 years old.

What would be my best way back into education in the UK? I would like to try and get a promoted post. I have kept up with professional development here in Spain and online.

I would be most grateful for any ideas you might have!

Many thanks Andrew

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

I see that you are using your real name as your login name. Most people prefer anonymity. You cannot change this yourself, but you can e-mail the TES staff to get it changed.

Send an e-mail to. TES.Community@tesglobal.com