1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Possible ICT qualification

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by beechclose, Jun 5, 2019.

1. beechclose

beechclose New commenter

Hi

I have been tasked with introducing an ICT qualification to our Y10s next year. We are a very small special school with a wide range of ability. I am a maths teacher (with a degree in computing) and for maths we have children doing entry level through higher level GCSE. I've googled lots of courses and am now just confused - does anyone have any suggestions of courses that would be good to do?

Thanks
    Sallie

matthew47 likes this.
  2. dalersmith

dalersmith Occasional commenter

In what way do you mean "good to do", ICT qualifications are thin on the ground now. Is this qualification the only offering for key stage 4 i.e. Computer Science is not an option. In truth you only have the vocational qualifications such as BTEC Information and Creative Technology (not really looked at it), Edexcel CIDA (never liked it), Cam Nat IT (very much a project management course). I actually do the Cam Nat Creative iMedia, but in truth it does not come under the performance tables for IT but Arts and Media. My first thing would be to look at your KS3 offering and see what students have done the most of, if they do little or no ICT because of the heavy CS elements that some schools do, why choose IT at all?
    As a special school whet sort of SEND do you handle? If your students like the creative stuff, go down the iMedia route, else the Cam Nat IT offers the better skill set in my eyes.
    Hope this some help

ParakeetGreen likes this.
  3. beechclose

beechclose New commenter