1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Possible capabilities

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by cbogue, Feb 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. cbogue

cbogue New commenter

Just in need of some advice...

I’m in my 4th year of teaching and up until the end of last year I had all good and outstanding observations.

At the end of last year I had a pretty bad lesson obs. I had a really hard class and some serious stuff going on in my personal life. Then summer came and I had a lot to deal with in my personal life and when I started again I was feeling anxious and bogged down after only a few weeks. I had been promoted to year group leader before the bad obs and this added loads of pressure plus my deputy taught part time in my year group and I felt pressure from all angles. I stepped down from my year group leader position in January so I could focus on my teaching.

Anyway, this lead to some inadequate and requires improvement observations. I have been on an informal support plan since before Christmas. I actually can’t fault my school they have been very supportive and can see that there is other stuff going on that is effecting me.