1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Poor observation and capability

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Hanbob, Apr 26, 2012.

1. I have never really posted on this site but have read many of the threads. However I have reached a point where I no longer know where to turn. I have been teaching for 3 years and whilst my first year was tough (as expected) I have never had a poor observation and have worked hard to make sure my lessons are good or outstanding. I have made serveral resources for the department and have always tried to be a good teacher. This year we went through a re-organisation and the stress has been almost unbearable at times. On one day a quarter of our school staff rang in sick and thats not including long term sick. It really was becoming dire. I was observed by a company used by our new academy and was given an unsatifactory based on the new ofstead guidelines as were several teachers who have been teaching a lot longer than myself and who are well respected and dedicated individuals. I was told however that there were some very easy changes which would make my lessons better and that they believe I am ostanding teacher. I made these changes and was re-observed, it was a difficult lesson due to the outside and uncontrolable factors, without going into details and identifying myself. I was given feedback a week later and told my lesson had elements of outstanding and my behaviour management was outstanding and the pupils worked hard for the lesson, but that due to the fact my objectives seemed muddled they gave me an Unsatifactory and I have been placed on capability. I am at my wits end. I am burnt out, I cry all the time on a daily basis, I cant sleep and feel I have