1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Poetry year 8 question - please help

Discussion in 'English' started by iheartpoetry, Dec 6, 2011.

1. Hello all,

I am a PGCE student teaching the John Agard poem, 'Listen Mr. Oxford Don' to a year 8 class. I am planning the final lesson of a three part sequence focusing on the effect on the reader of the performance compared with the use of violent language. Although it is a top set the abilities are immensely diverse and whereas some students have finished all the set tasks, others have barely started. What advice would you give in terms of planning that includes everyone? I need to challenge those of a high ability whilst ensuring that the others are not left behind. The class are somewhat rowdy and if I have them all working on totally different tasks I am worried that I will not be able to keep everyone engaged and learning. Another concern is that most of the students have not grasped (my fault) the overall concept which is that John Agard is not a violent man, he just wants to speak his own kind of English. Would you start afresh and have everyone go back over everything to get everyone on the same level or push on and give the more able students an extension activity to work on?

Many many thanks!

2. Hello all,