1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Plunging confidence levels - any advice? Do you fit into your staff room?

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by tifur, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Hello,

I'm a prospective teacher, with a confirmed PGCE place in September. Getting the place was the result of intense hard work and minute preparation as well as being able to interpret and communicate the experience I gained from voluntary TA work in a primary school. After the interview I went on to secure paid TA work for the rest of the year.

All should be well and good, but I'm having a crisis of confidence.

I had the feeling my first voluntary placement was drifting as I never had the feeling the teacher expected anything of me and felt a bit like a spare leg (particularly as the school has so many TAs). This I guess might be normal for volunteers (there are so many, they pass through quickly, you're at the bottom of the pile).

My paid role is very challenging - in a 'special school' - and I have gone from a situation of having developed excellent relationships with pupils to one where particularly the older kids are hard to reach. I realise I should just see the limitations of the role (I shouldn't think I'm a teacher) and not see it as about helping the children's education, more being a sort of policeman!

As my lack of experience has come across more (particular the social skills necessary to act wisely in some situations!), I've been subject to teachers and TAs gossiping about me in my presence. I've also had some curious inverted snobbery about my accent being too well spoken to have come from the local area.