1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Please help with how to teach visualising 3D objects from 2D drawings.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by taspat, Jan 29, 2011.

1. Hi

I'm a trainee teacher and I'm going to be observed teaching year 4 children in Numeracy. The objective is I can visualise 3D objects from 2D drawings.
    For the main activity, I'm going to give the children pictures of models made from interlocking cubes and they will predict how many cubes are needed to make the model and then they will check by making them (easier models for LA and more difficult models for HA). After they have done this, they will predict how many more cubes are needed to make the model into a cube and then they will make it to check. The children will work in pairs. For the extension activity, one child will make a model and they will have to describe to their partner how to put it together without showing it to them. In the plenary, the children will play an interactive count the cubes game.

What I need help with is how to teach and explain to the children what they are going to be doing before they go off and do the activity. I was thinking of having the children on the carpet, showing them some easy model images to start of with, get them to predict and then send them off to their tables to make it and check. But I'm worried that this is not going to be enough to make them understand. Could somebody please help me with how I could explain this activity to the children and how to teach them visualising 3D objects from 2D drawings?

2. Hi

I'm a trainee teacher and I'm going to be observed teaching year 4 children in Numeracy. The objective is I can visualise 3D objects from 2D drawings.