1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

please help with convex and concave shapes

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by taspat, Jan 27, 2011.

1. Hi, could somebody please help me. I need to explain concave and convex to year 4 children. I'm a trainee teacher, shapes isn't my strong point and I want the children to be able to understand it. Is there anything I could say to help them explain it rather than simply saying and showing that the concave shapes cave in?

Thanks

2. Hi, could somebody please help me. I need to explain concave and convex to year 4 children. I'm a trainee teacher, shapes isn't my strong point and I want the children to be able to understand it. Is there anything I could say to help them explain it rather than simply saying and showing that the concave shapes cave in?

Thanks

3. Nazard

Nazard New commenter

I teach secondary, not Y4, so I don't claim that this will be fantastic ...
    Get your shape. Pick any two point inside the shape (or on the perimeter). Join them up with a straight line. If every single time you do this all the lines are completely inside the shape then it is convex. If some of the lines go off the edge of the shape and then back on again then it is concave.
    Could you draw out some big shapes and ask them to try to draw two points and then a straight line joining them?
    Or maybe use wool or string to join them?

4. DM

DM New commenter

My goodness - is this language really used in primary schools? Most A Level physicists struggle to remember the difference! A quick Google suggests they have given up using these terms in GCSE physics and have adopted converging and diverging lenses instead!