1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Please help - Carol Ann Duffy

Discussion in 'English' started by Honeydew, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Honeydew

Honeydew New commenter

Hope you kind souls can please advise me. I am very desperate! I am teaching Carol Ann Duffy's poems (OCR).
    I studied some of her poems during my degree and loved her work. BUT of the 15 poems I have to teach to my year 11s, 7 are very new to me! I have browsed the internet/TES and tried to find commentaries on these poems but with no success.
    I have analysed the poems myself but I'm not sure if I've interpreted them correctly. I understand that poems are about the reader's interpretation but I'm worried my understanding may be way off. My other two colleagues cover different poets with their groups (we do different poets depending on the groups we get - this is fine with me, because the other poets wouldn't be suitable for my groups) I asked them to look at my commentaries. My colleagues said my notes/understanding seemed OK but I got the feeling they didn't really look at my notes! The poems are as follows:
    Answer
    Dream of a Lost Friend
    In your Mind
    Mrs Lazarus
    Nostalgia
    Who Loves You
    Wintering
    Can someone please advise me? Is there anyone out there who has handouts/commentaries on these poems they are willing to share? I have been on Amazon and Waterstones and tried to find books on her poems, but they all seem to cover the same poems - and none of the above! York Notes was no help.
    Is it OK for me to teach MY own understanding of the poem? Any advice, and offers of help? Thank you.

2. Honeydew

Honeydew New commenter