1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Please can you help me understand what AD mean?

Discussion in 'History' started by taspat, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Hi
    I'm a primary trainee teacher. I'm going to be teaching the children about the Romans. I need some advice please. When I introduce the key dates e.g. 43 A.D, I want to explain to the children what A.D means. I have no idea, I've looked on the Internet and this has confused me even more. Could somebody please help? Also, how could I explain it to the children in child friendly speak, they are year 4.

Thanks in advance.

2. Hi
    I'm a primary trainee teacher. I'm going to be teaching the children about the Romans. I need some advice please. When I introduce the key dates e.g. 43 A.D, I want to explain to the children what A.D means. I have no idea, I've looked on the Internet and this has confused me even more. Could somebody please help? Also, how could I explain it to the children in child friendly speak, they are year 4.

Thanks in advance.

3. Hi,
    A.D Means Anno Dominie or In the Year of Our Lord. It is basically used to denote the difference between years B.C. Before Christ and afterwards. You could explain it to Year 4s using a number line that shows B.C like minus numbers then going into A.D. years. Remember there was no year zero though. Hope this helps :)

4. Hi many thanks for your reply but I'm still really confused. So does BC stand for before christ and AD stand for after christ was born? I am going to use this interactive time line to show them. Do you think it is ok?
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/primaryhistory/romans/ (the timeline is at the top of the page).