1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Please advise on teaching phonics and numbers etc in Nursery

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Kirstos, Sep 20, 2008.

1. Hi there

I am quite new to Nursery and have the 3-4 year olds (private nursery). I have to teach 1 jolly phonics sound a week which I am finding v.hard! Also, most of them don't know numbers, colours or shapes! How do I teach them those things? (primary trained!)

Thanks!

2. Hi there

I am quite new to Nursery and have the 3-4 year olds (private nursery). I have to teach 1 jolly phonics sound a week which I am finding v.hard! Also, most of them don't know numbers, colours or shapes! How do I teach them those things? (primary trained!)

Thanks!

3. newso

newso New commenter

I wouldn't be teaching the sounds but laying strong foundations with the pre phonics games like those in letters and sounds, however, if you have to do the JP thing have you got the songs? Kids love them and it makes the whole thing fun.

4. cinderella1

cinderella1 New commenter

HIya

if you have a mini mat time after register then have a boards with letter, number, colours and shape.

Every day show the letter here is the letter ? that makes the sound ...... get kids to make sound and try and think of things that begin with the sound. You can play sound games throughout the day, there is some lovely stuff in letters and sounds that you can use alongside your jolly phonics.

Show them the items on colour board, ask what colour they are, what are they what sound do they begin with.

Shape board, what shape is it? 2D or 3D how many sides etc... can you see or think of anything the same shape/