1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Play based learning

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by NatzyB, Feb 17, 2012.

1. NatzyB

NatzyB New commenter

Hi. I am currently studying A Levels and hope to go to university in September so that I can become a Primary School Teacher. I am working on an extended project alongside my A levels. I have chosen to look at early years, in particular reception class. I am looking at the debate of "is the early years curriculum too focused on play based learning?"
    I am required to do research for the project, which I have done at the school I am helping out in. I was hoping to do some additional research and was just wondering if anyone could help me out by giving their opinion on play based learning in the early years curriculum, for example:
    • How essential is play based learning?
    • Do you feel there is too much play based learning?
    • Does play based learning have any negative effects on children and their learning?
    • What skills do you think play based learning improves on?
    • Have you ever had parents comment on play based learning? Has it been positive or negative feedback?