1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Planning a sequence of activities. Ideas?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by Janna5, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Hello everyone!
    I'm a PGCE student teaching French. My first placement was very good, great school ,Department and Mentor.
    I'm starting my second placement soon.Very excited about it :)
    I would like to have some advice on planning a lesson or to be more precise on planning a sequence of activities in a lesson.
    I know <u>it is</u> supposed to take you ages when you start teaching but the thing is, sometimes it does get ridiculous ...like 2 or 3 hours for one lesson (I was at 4h two months ago ;-P) .
    I really enjoy planning but I would like to be more efficient at it, and creative.
    So I would like to ask the French teachers to share examples of sequence of activities used in order to promote the four skills? Or at least 3 out of 4?
    For instance if you are introducing new vocabulary and you do three stage questioning with IWB first, then say a matching up activity from the IWB what would you do next?
    I know that each lesson will be different but I think that if several teachers share their sequencing of activities we could end up with a real treasure. Thank you!

2. noemie

noemie Occasional commenter