1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

pirating textbooks

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by mincekinguk, Sep 21, 2020.

1. mincekinguk

mincekinguk New commenter

I just started at a new school and they're downloading Cambridge textbooks off illegal websites and mass distributing them to student devices. Should I report this or is it just what international schools do? It's my first time abroad.

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

It's not what good schools do.
    Report them to whom?

3. february31st

february31st Established commenter

Some schools will even charge students the full price for photocopied text book!

frodo_magic likes this.
  4. briancant

briancant Occasional commenter

I worked in a school in Spain that employed someone to cut the spines off textbooks and scan them so every student could have a pdf for on their chrome books. I would have loved to see them get caught out over it, but I guess they are still at it.

5. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

The publisher whose copyright is being infringed?

6. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

You could. Publishers have been known to sue.

7. norwichred

norwichred Occasional commenter

My God - I wish my current problems and issues were so insignificant that I could afford to worry about something like this.

towncryer, fjoy15, T0nyGT and 2 others like this.
  8. colacao17

colacao17 Lead commenter

Just from the title of this thread, I knew it was your first time abroad.

It's not ideal, but it happens. The more difficult it is to get hold of stuff and the more expensive in local terms, the more likely it is to happen.