1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pick me up.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by tolkien28, Dec 19, 2019.

1. tolkien28

tolkien28 Occasional commenter

Feel totally stupid writing this post, but just want a total outsider's point of view. I work as a supply teacher between two primary schools and I'm treated really well. However, today I watched my colleagues inundated by cards and presents and stupidly I came home this evening and let this colour my judgement of the day, feeling low. Don't know why this has got to me, because I know that I'm miles happier doing this type of work rather than being in one school inundated with paperwork and under stress.

sodalime and (deleted member) like this.
  2. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

I have never received more than a handful of cards and rarely more than a £1 chocolate gift.
    It's not the same in all schools.

Jamvic, tolkien28, Jesmond12 and 2 others like this.
  3. MissGeorgi

MissGeorgi Occasional commenter

Just think of the work which the normal teachers will have to do over the holidays. I’m a supply teacher too. I hear quite a lot of people mentioning the issue of gifts. Recently someone said they stopped working as a TA altogether because they never got any gifts, whereas teachers were inundated.
    A tired judgement is never a good judgement.

freckle06, Jamvic, tolkien28 and 2 others like this.
  4. catmother

catmother Star commenter

Just retired from a secondary school full of well off (and some pretty wealthy) pupils. Rarely got a card and never got a present.

5. Flowersinspring

Flowersinspring Lead commenter

It's just stuff. Treat yourself to happy thoughts. X

6. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter