1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Phoning tutees

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by scienceclub2018, Apr 29, 2020.

1. scienceclub2018

scienceclub2018 New commenter

I'm a teacher at a large secondary. As part of our closure plan, we have been asked to phone each member of our tutor group, via their parents, one a week. I'm finding this so hard for a number of reasons:

1. My neighbours have taken the opportunity to do loud DIY.
    2. I hate phoning people. I have panic attacks related to previous phone issues. I can cope with a few a week, but making 6 a day every work day is too much.
    3. There are now roadworks outside my window, with drills, and other loud noise. I rent a room, so no other place to move to. Kitchen occupied by another WFH housemate.

Work have not been great about it. The union says we can't be expected to do this, and I have sent them the link to back it up. I have been communicating with my students in other ways, but they are hung up on this phone call idea.

Any ideas before I go insane? This has been the most stressful part of lockdown for me.

agathamorse and thara9643 like this.
  2. catnap15

catnap15 New commenter

Sorry to hear you are feeling so stressed out by this.

If you have already contacted your line manager on this and outlined the main issues and concerns you have, and have said you will continue to make contact in other ways then there is not much more for you or them to do.