1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Phonics phases

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by sillysausage21, Nov 15, 2011.

1. sillysausage21

sillysausage21 New commenter

I am new to Reception this year and we have been working hard at our phonics! We have completed phase 2 however I am concerned that I still have about half the class that are not independently blending yet. Including a handfull of chn that are struggling to recognise letters at all!
    How would you find best to manage this, would you still move on to phase 3? As I do have chn who are ready for this. Any good tips to teach blending skills?
    Thank you for any advice you can offer.

2. choralsongster

choralsongster New commenter

Hi
    Do you have a TA that could work with those that still need to consolidate Phase 2/initial blending, while you move those others on in Phase 3? If not, do you have another Reception class at your school? Could you sort the children by Phase rather than class?
    I would suggest to observe another teacher teaching Phonics, to help you with blending. Could the EYFS or Literacy Co-ordinator assist?
    Hope this is of some help xx

3. I would be either taking a few children out during other times of the day for extra work on phase two or, depending on how many adults you have, splitting the groups for phonics. I have done groups mixed between nursery, reception and year one because the children were at such different levels.
    I have found this tricky a few times. I find that it's all so fast paced that it's very easy for range in ability to get out of hand.
    Could you repeat virtually the same phonics session for some children?