1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

phonics help please

Discussion in 'Primary' started by CLR12, Mar 2, 2012.

1. Hi I am an experienced keystage 2 teacher who has just been put in a mixed foundation/y1 class please, please all you phonics experts out there, have you any tried and tested activities to support phase 1, 2 and 3 would like to give some ideas to parents so things they can do at home easily would be great!!

Thanks

2. Doesn't your school have a systematic phonics programme with resources to use?

3. I can only suggest that you teach yourself phonics as you go - which is what I had to do. Get hold of Letters and Sounds. Get the phoneme/graphemes in yr head for the phase you are working to - make sure you say she actual sound to yourself.... NOT "puh", "muh", "tuh" etc... before you start to teach it to children.

Lots of printables etc here: http://www.letters-and-sounds.com/
    Some useful free games, but prob worth joining here: http://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/
    Some really useful games here: http://ictgames.com/literacy.html

Good luck.

SP

4. Msz

Msz Established commenter

5. You really need to get a copy of 'letters and sounds'. This is particularly good for the early phonics phases and contains lots of activity ideas. There is also a dvd with video clips of teachers doing some of these activities with their classes and it shows you how to pronounce the phonemes correctly. I know it can look daunting as it's quite a thick booklet but there's really no shortcut to this. If you're only going up to phase 3, you won't need to worry about the second half anyway.