1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PhD but no PGCE: do I stand a chance?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by TusitalaH, Apr 8, 2018.

1. TusitalaH

TusitalaH New commenter

Apologies in advance for what will probably be quite a long, rambling post...

I'm very new to TES but have trawled through this forum extensively trying to find all I can about teaching overseas. I feel I now need to ask some specific questions and would really appreciate some advice.

My partner is a teacher with four years experience and has introduced the idea of working overseas (looking to September 2019). I'm extremely keen to go but I'm not a teacher. I'm nearing the end of a PhD in English Literature (also have BA, MA in English) and I've been teaching university seminars for two years. I have a higher education teaching qualification and plan to take a CELTA course in August.

My partner has already posted here asking about the likelihood of me finding employment teaching english as a foreign language, if he is in an international school. He got some really positive responses, with people suggesting it might be possible for me to also gain employment in an international school, even without a PGCE or QTS. I was very surprised at this as all the job adverts I've seen request QTS and a couple of years experience. So I thought I would create an account for myself and double check what people think! I'm beginning to plan for post-phd and I didn't want to make some pretty key decisions without knowing as much as I can.