1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Phased retirement

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by Beauherne1990, Nov 9, 2019.

1. Beauherne1990

Beauherne1990 New commenter

I am wondering how easy this is to do..? I currently work full time as a class teacher and have been at the same school for nearly three years. I am not too keen to start all over again at another setting. I really don't think I can continue full time and hope to go down the phased retirement route next year on three days a week. However, I wonder if my request would be successful and whether I would just be offered a temporary contract at a lower pay grade. Anyone had experience of going down this route? I cannot afford to retire completely, even though it's very appealing!!

2. diddydave

diddydave Established commenter

You will need the co-operation of your school. The 20% drop in salary will easily be accomplished by the 40% drop in time so you won't need to be put on a lower pay grade. Bear in mind that you may be 'expensive' but they would be able to replace 40% of your salary with a cheaper alternative so they may consider it attractive.

yodaami2 and Beauherne1990 like this.
  3. diddydave

I do suggest you get some proper advice from someone who can go through your exact numbers with you. Most members have a falling 'final salary' portion and going part-time may have an adverse effect on this remaining part of your pension as you are losing a full year of historical revalued salaries and only adding in 60% to the new pension of what you were previously.

Beauherne1990 likes this.
  4. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter