1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Phased retirement or go completely??

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by Beauherne1990, Jan 2, 2020.

1. Beauherne1990

Beauherne1990 New commenter

I am 55 in September and have been a teacher for 30 years. Unfortunately I don't have a full pension history though! I worked as a Headteacher with a good salary for over a decade however so my '3 in 10' looks good at the moment. I was planning to phase retire at 55, but now I am wondering if I should just get out completely. I could then escape the stresses of teaching and find a part-time job doing something else. Anyone else had this kind of experience? I currently work as a class teacher, having left my SLT days we'll behind me!!

2. diddydave

diddydave Established commenter

Trying to find someone who has circumstances exactly like your own will be the proverbial needle. I left teaching before 55 but I have my own business and don't think I'll need to call on the pension for several years yet but I can thoroughly recommend getting away from the stress. My wife also taught and I can see the difference in her - it took 18 months for her to recharge.

What I would say is to check your figures carefully, for instance if your best 3-in-10 is from 2009-2012 then have a good look to see if you have any breaks in service that will work to your advantage with regard to the hypothetical calculation that is used to protect members who have had a break - otherwise you may be at risk of losing your 'best' years and may want to consider opting out for a month to create such a break.