1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

phase 2 in Nursery

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by LizzieTish, Nov 25, 2015.

1. LizzieTish

LizzieTish New commenter

Hi, I'm an experienced Nursery teacher in a Primary school. My children attend for 2 and a half days per week. We have 20 children and I have a TA. The Literacy Co ordinator is pushing for me to teach phase 2 phonics Asap ( or SATPIN as she calls it!). Our children come in with low levels in attention, listening, speaking and prior experiences. Has anyone else been forced to do this? I feel that good quality phase 1 experiences are more important at this stage, but I understand the 'push' for raising standards. Any advice/ comments welcome!

2. lovecats10

lovecats10 New commenter

I totally see your viewpoint and would be inclined to agree with good quality phase 1 experiences at this stafe. However we certainly have children in our Nursery who are ready for phonics and enjoy it. Could you group children and continue with phase 1 experiences for those who need it and challenge others by beginning to teach them phase 2? It might be that some children are ready for it. You can always assess the impact after giving it a go. Our children also have similar low levels in attention and listening etc but there are a number of them who show readiness for more challenge.

3. missrturner

missrturner Occasional commenter