1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCEi (International) can you teach at International Schools with this?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by DancingMonkey, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Hello all,
    I've been teaching in the ESL industry now for over 3 years and would like to make the jump over to teaching at international schools.
    I'm looking at doing the PGCEi at Nothingham University (China) and then going on to do the MA in Education.
    I can't do the PGCE in England as I have a wife over here in China and will have great difficulty taking her over there for a year and paying my way through as well.
    Is there anyone who has done this course or knows someone who has and is now working in an international school.
    I'm just trying to see if it is worth doing or not.
    Thanks for any and all advice :)

2. Hello all,
    I've been teaching in the ESL industry now for over 3 years and would like to make the jump over to teaching at international schools.
    I'm looking at doing the PGCEi at Nothingham University (China) and then going on to do the MA in Education.
    I can't do the PGCE in England as I have a wife over here in China and will have great difficulty taking her over there for a year and paying my way through as well.
    Is there anyone who has done this course or knows someone who has and is now working in an international school.
    I'm just trying to see if it is worth doing or not.
    Thanks for any and all advice :)

3. nemo.

nemo. Occasional commenter

Hi I would say good international schools a definate no - unless your a ESL special support first and they think "wow". But most likely not.