1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE training

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by amy_m_wright, Nov 12, 2018.

1. amy_m_wright

amy_m_wright New commenter

I am hoping to be accepted onto a Secondary English PGCE, if successful my interviews will take place relatively soon and I would just like some advice on what to brush up on for the interviews.

Also, I am currently studying a degree course which is not closely related to an English degree, I am told this is completely acceptable if you possess the knowledge and also take a SKE (Subject Knowledge Enhancement) course, if they offer you a place.

I was just wondering if you know any books that will help me with the current curriculum knowledge? I’m finding it hard to find some online,

Thanks for any help!

2. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide

Your best bet is to visit a campus bookshop or one near a university with the ITT course. National curriculum English KS3 and 4 should be your starting point- these are online. Study guides for KS3/4 aimed at pupils are also a good source

3. KellyStark123

KellyStark123 New commenter

Hi there,

I am currently a PGCE English student in a secondary school. Although I have a degree in English, I still completed the SKE with TES and found it incredibly useful for the lessons I am now teaching.