1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE to TA

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by AnnieSL, May 11, 2018.

1. AnnieSL

AnnieSL New commenter

Hi,

I am taking some time out of my PGCE - I was only two months or so off finishing it but was really struggling and dreading the NQT year so feel like I have totally made the right decision.
    However, the people I have approached so far seem determined to get me Into a supply or cover supervisor role which makes me think I would be as well doing my PGCE. I want a TA role.
    Not that I am an expert on the role of a TA but I guess it is a job I might not have to take home of a night - apologies if this is not correct. I certainly won’t have assignments and I’m guessing lesson planning etc.

So can anyone give me any advice on how to seek a TA role rather than a supply/cover role?
    The folks I have spoken to so far seem to think I am now overqualified to be a TA - even though my tutor thinks it would be a great way to spend the next few months before I go back to uni.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

amazing06 likes this.
  2. annie2020

annie2020 New commenter

Apply for TA jobs rather than supply/cover roles??

freckle06 and harsh-but-fair like this.
  3. theluckycat

theluckycat Occasional commenter

They are probably trying to get you into teaching roles since you are an economically-good option for this, having recent teaching experience and training whilst not being qualified and necessitating greater pay. You will probably have to be firmer over the role that you want.

4. armandine2

armandine2 Established commenter