1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Student - Planning to do two more years then off abroad. Looking for advice also about Japan

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ComradeK, Apr 12, 2020.

1. ComradeK

ComradeK New commenter

Hi everyone, thank you for taking the time to read.

I've tried numerous websites looking for information, and was recommended I come here for help.

Basically I am currently a PGCE student planning to do two more years here after this year then move abroad, so that I fulfill the minimum of the two years required by most international schools. Along the way I plan to do a part-time masters (already discussed this with various mentors at uni/school and they reckon I'll be fine with it) so hopefully when I leave I'll have a Masters under my belt as well.

Intitially I am not looking for a permanent move at first, but rather to 'teach and travel' as some of my family and others I know have. Ideally I would like to visit East Asia - hopefully Japan, but happy elsewhere - and I was hoping somebody might be able to enlighten me on the best route for this as I have been given mixed information.

One option is to go as a normal teacher and try to secure work at a private/international school. This is apparently quite a sweet gig if you can manage it, but I'm cautious as apparently these demand quite a bit of knowledge of Japanese/respective country's language from the get-go, as well as being more suitable for a permanent move.