1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE student needing help with progression in science

Discussion in 'Science' started by PeggyDee, Dec 22, 2011.

1. PeggyDee

PeggyDee New commenter

Please could any science teachers give me some help? I am a PCGE student for secondary science. Part of my course involved some experience in primary school for observation. I attended a lovely primary school where the staff were very friendly and helpful but my time there was only three days (as required by my course) and I did not get an opportunity to specifically observe and science lessons or discuss the subject with any science teachers. (Not the fault of the school but unfortunately the time I was there they were focusing on certain themes which prioritised other subjects for the days I was there.)
    My primary school observation did cover literacy, numeracy, citizenship, mathematics, EAL and several discussions with the teachers of these subjects. I need to know a bit more specifically about progession in <u>science</u> from KS2 to KS3.
    Could teachers of Key stage 2 SCIENCE please advise me of concerns they have in teaching the subject at KS2 level and concerns about progression to KS3? Or point me in the direction of relevant research or literature or even outstanding lesson plans showing progression? Thank you so much for your help.

2. PeggyDee

PeggyDee New commenter