1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE student - an unwilling accomplice

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by pavot, May 4, 2012.

1. I'm a PGCE student at a difficult school and one of the classes I teach is a FCSE/Entry Level group for Spanish.
    It has come to my attention that the class teacher for the parallel set (not a PGCE student) has not covered all the tasks required by the exam board. The other day in the MFL Workroom I saw this class teacher with a calculator, and they openly admitted to me that they were averaging out marks for the tasks they hadn't done.

This would be bad enough on it's own, but they also asked my fellow PGCE student how they felt about forging students' handwriting to present to the moderators. I've emailed my PGCE tutor but from the replies I've received, it sounds like he's going to brush this under the carpet, for the sake of keeping it as a partner school, as there have been problems with this school in the past.

I have a meeting with him on Tuesday, but I'm not sure what I need to do now - if he decides not to support me do I go to the head of the PGCE, the head of the school, or both?

If you're a headteacher, would you want to know?
    If you were in my position what would you do?

2. I'm a PGCE student at a difficult school and one of the classes I teach is a FCSE/Entry Level group for Spanish.
    It has come to my attention that the class teacher for the parallel set (not a PGCE student) has not covered all the tasks required by the exam board. The other day in the MFL Workroom I saw this class teacher with a calculator, and they openly admitted to me that they were averaging out marks for the tasks they hadn't done.