1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Secondary English without an English degree- can it be done?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Easkey88, May 28, 2012.

1. I'm thinking about training to teach English Secondary, only problem being that I don't have an English based degree.
    I studied Primary Education at universIty but didn't complete my QTS element. I then did a CELTA and taught English as a for a year (at a very basic level). Due to funding I was made redundant, and it is very hard to find regular, full time work.
    I will be teaching English over the summer to 11 - 14 years, which will be great experience. I love teaching and have a real passion for English, I just worry that I don't have the subject knowledge.
    Can anyone advise me as to what experience I may need to get onto a PGCE? or alternative routes? or just any advise would be great!

2. andersoncouncil

andersoncouncil New commenter

Not sure if this helps at all but I am secondary trained, but not in English and have a degree in another subject. I taught English in FE for years, but am yet to invited to interview for a single English post in a secondary school (50+ applications). Most person specs seem to ask for a good degree in the subject. There is a requirement for so much of your degree to be subject related to get on to a secondary PGCE, not sure what that means in your case as English is obviously part of it. You could do a conversion degree through the OU, they will take a large number of credits from your existing degree, it is a hell of a lot cheaper than other routes and you could do it in your own time. I'm considering it myself.