1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Primary with a Sociology degree?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by wantoteach1, Jan 20, 2011.

1. I'm currently in my second year of university studying Sociology. I hope to apply for the PGCE Primary later this year, however, would my Sociology degree put me at a disadvantage as it is not a English, Maths or Science course?
    Also, I was hoping to apply to IOE, however, my A Level grades were B, C, D, the 'D' being in English Literature due to one bad module grade. Should I not apply to IOE because of this?
    Any help would be much appreciated, Thank you! :)

2. I'm currently in my second year of university studying Sociology. I hope to apply for the PGCE Primary later this year, however, would my Sociology degree put me at a disadvantage as it is not a English, Maths or Science course?
    Also, I was hoping to apply to IOE, however, my A Level grades were B, C, D, the 'D' being in English Literature due to one bad module grade. Should I not apply to IOE because of this?
    Any help would be much appreciated, Thank you! :)

3. Hi
    The criteria is for a degree and English, Maths and Science GCSE passes. As long as you have those, you can apply - under current rules anyway. I've just got a PGCE place and I did a Sociology degree (many years ago...!)
    I also applied for GTP and I had to show them that I had knowledge of subjects on the primary curriculum.
    Your enthusiasm, commitment to teaching and to children are just as important IMHO
    Good luck
    Clive

4. Yeah I have all the necessary GCSE passes :)