1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE nightmare

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by PARTALOA, Dec 22, 2011.

1. PARTALOA

PARTALOA New commenter

Dear Stephen
    I graduated this year with a PGCE in PCET teaching languages(Spanish/Italian) and I have the relevant MFL degree. Additionally I have a CELTA qualification. I've been teaching languages for 3 yrs on a part-time evening basis. I'm in the process of professional formation QTLS and understand that this maybe recognised as equivalent to QTS for secondary education. However, after several job applications even for a non teaching post been declined because of lack of classroom experience at GCSE level I am at a low ebb. I can't do another PGCE as I work full time with 2 toddlers. My degree and PGCE took 9 yrs to complete (as I had to do it part-time) I can't get a permanent full time job in FE, can't get a job in either primary or secondary, due to lack of experience, can't get the experience because of work committments. What can I do? The TDA sent me a text about the demand for MFL teachers but I'm not getting any joy ?? What's your advice? I think it's really important that we get children into languages at an early age, despite an offer from me to teach as an after school activity in the school for free, I still can't get any positive feedback. I feel the whole 9 yrs has been a waste!!!

2. PARTALOA

PARTALOA New commenter

Dear Stephen