1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE is getting me down! Other jobs i can do when i qualify?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by lesley1322, Mar 5, 2011.

1. Hello everyone,
    I am a student teacher currently doing the primary PGCE course and I am really struggling to remember why an earth i decided to do this in the first place. Before i started the course i was so excited and was sure that i'd made the right decision to become a teacher and now that i am nearing the end of the course i am unsure if i even want to teach at all. Its not even like i have had a bad eperience, I have had some really good placements. The first was in reception and the second was in year 6 (bit of a difference hey) and i have enjoyed some of the time i have spent in school but i really feel that its not for me. I get up at 6am and then work all night until i go to bed on my lesson planning and masters essay writing. I also spend every night laying awake worrying that i have just not planned enough work for the next day or that i have forgotton something really important. I have had days where i simply just cry for no apparant reason. surely this isnt normal??! I feel like i am becomming unhappier by the day and i am no longer in control of my own life. (this might sound dramatic but its really getting me down)
    Anyway my question to you is, what other jobs can you do after you have completed a PGCE?? - doesn't have to be in education but as this is where my experience lies i guess i have no other choice.
    I would like to feel in control of my life again.

2. Hello everyone,