1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE in History - How much subject knowledge is needed?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Coeus2, Oct 6, 2019.

1. Coeus2

Coeus2 New commenter

Hi all,

I am in my final year of University studying history, and I plan on doing my PGCE next year with a view to teaching KS3/4 history in the future.

I am however slightly worried having looked at the curriculum as I have very little knowledge of most of the subjects. My history degree has covered very little of the topics mentioned, and there has been a large gap between college and University where I was pursuing a different career (retail management, I am 28 and left College 10 years ago), so previous knowledge has been lost.

My question then is how important is subject knowledge and how difficult is it to get up to scratch? I plan on improving my knowledge between now and (hopefully) the start of my PGCE course in September. I appreciate I don’t need degree level knowledge of the subjects, but I was wondering how much knowledge is needed, and if anybody has been in a similar position before.

Any help/advice would be appreciated!

pepper5 likes this.
  2. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

I'm not a secondary teacher but I reckon you've got plenty of time to do a bit of reading around your subject between now and when you start your PGCE. I'd suggest having a look at the KS3 history curriculum and the syllabus for the exam courses you're likely to be teaching. The content and skills required to be taught will be covered during your PGCE but you'll be in a good position if you've done a bit of reading before you start.

pepper5 and agathamorse like this.
  3. Coeus2

Coeus2 New commenter