1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE DT or Science? Job prospect questions

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by Linds0489, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Hey, I'm hoping this is the right place to post. I'm looking for some opinions from current DT teachers.
    I'm applying to start a PGCE in September, my application has been finished for a while but I've been delaying sending it because I'm unsure whether there will be jobs for me after completing the PGCE. My undergraduate degree is in biology, I'm currently studying for a masters in food science and nutrition and what I really want to teach is food tech and textiles. Will there be jobs in DT when I graduate from the PGCE course in 2013?
    I know no one can really be sure, but what are you opinions? Are jobs in DT short already? Will there be absolutely no jobs if DT is removed from the curriculum?
    My second option is to apply for PGCE science and/or biology but food is what I love, I'm worried I won't love the subject enough to be a good science teacher :(
    Any help/comments will be greatly appreciated :)

2. Hey, I'm hoping this is the right place to post. I'm looking for some opinions from current DT teachers.
    I'm applying to start a PGCE in September, my application has been finished for a while but I've been delaying sending it because I'm unsure whether there will be jobs for me after completing the PGCE. My undergraduate degree is in biology, I'm currently studying for a masters in food science and nutrition and what I really want to teach is food tech and textiles. Will there be jobs in DT when I graduate from the PGCE course in 2013?