1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Distance Learning Courses

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Joe1506, Mar 1, 2016.

1. Joe1506

Joe1506 New commenter

Hey everyone,
    I want to become eligible to teach at International Schools Primary School level British Curriculum.
    I am currently an ESL teacher working in Vietnam for the
    [This comment/section has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions]
    Hanoi.
    I have 5 years teaching experience as a primary school ESL teacher , 4 years in public school in South Korea and 1 year here in Vietnam.
    I have heard about two distance learning PGCE's one from Sunderland University and one from Nottingham IPGCE.
    The one from Sunderland is 6,250 Pounds and the one from Nottingham is 3,500 pounds.The difference between the two course is that the Sunderland course requires that you do two teaching practicums throughout the course while the Nottingham course is all theory based, essays and research project only.
    I read today that the Sunderland course teaching practice has to be done at an International School where English is the language of induction. I work for a Korean International School and they don't fit this requirement so that is a deal breaker for me as I can't afford to be out of work. So now I'm leaning towards doing the Nottingham IPGCE course. Does anyone have any experience and success with either course.
    If you have any advice about what options are open to me please reply.
    I am from the Republic of Ireland.
    Sincerely
    Joseph

2. Vladimir

Vladimir Senior commenter

Have you posted this elsewhere on the forum? This might not be the best place for answers.