1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pgce dilemma. Please help Theo Griff and John

Discussion in 'Primary' started by nw141, May 20, 2016.

1. nw141

nw141 New commenter

Hi all

I am a teacher trainee who has deferred the training after 2nd placement because I was finding it extremely difficult to do lesson planning which was taking about 4/5 hours for one lesson and even after spending so much time the lessons were not exciting, were not pitched at right level and there was not enough progress in pupil's learning. Behaviour was another big issue and my presence was also not that great.

I think I am not cut for teaching and have chosen a wrong profession for myself as I dont think I can pass this course in final placement. I had most 3bs for my Spring term report. If I think about leaving the training it makes me look towards myself as a failure and not a good model for my own children. But if I think to carry on I feel so much paniced that I wont be able to pass it. Please help. Can anyone adviseme that what should I do? Is there anyway, I can pass it? If yes please give your ideas about what can I do to progress my teaching or do you think that I am not cut for teaching?
    Thanks in advance

2. coxdeb

coxdeb New commenter

Taking 4 - 5 hours to plan a lesson is obviously not sustainable, and should not be necessary. It is the kind of thing that happens once you lose confidence and get yourself worked up into a state.