1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Classics

Discussion in 'Classics' started by Quintus_est_in_horto, Nov 25, 2009.

1. Hi all,
    I'm currently in my first year of university studying Classical Literature and Civilisation and am looking at what I would need for a PGCE course in order to teach at secondary level. I've looked at the Cambridge and King's information on their course and King's state "Your level of Latin will need to be AS level grade B or the equivalent."
    I studied Latin until GCSE gaining an A grade but was unable to continue to the Sixth Form due to subject timetable clashes. I'm taking Greek this year and will probably continue Latin next year from GCSE standard. Has anyone else been in the same situation in that they don't have an AS/A Level Latin qualification? I know there are summer schools which offer courses in languages but wonder if I could continue studying it to the equal standard, just without the specific qualification.
    I'm planning on contacting the King's and Cambridge departments at some point, but any helpful advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. Hi all,
    I'm currently in my first year of university studying Classical Literature and Civilisation and am looking at what I would need for a PGCE course in order to teach at secondary level. I've looked at the Cambridge and King's information on their course and King's state "Your level of Latin will need to be AS level grade B or the equivalent."