1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PGCE Application process questions

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by mike372, Sep 8, 2012.

1. mike372

mike372 New commenter

Hi, I currently work full time as a maths teacher at an International School in Bangkok (been working there for 10 months). I'm applying for a secondary maths PGCE starting 2013 and I have a few questions:

The GTTR website recommends that the principal referee should be someone from the university I graduated from. If I had the choice, I would prefer to use the director of the school I work at since he knows more about my suitability to be a teacher than a uni tutor who I didn't really see much of in my final year. But I also don't want to do anything to harm my application by not using someone from my uni. Any advice?

Also, I have seen that some training providers require 2 weeks recent experience in a UK school prior to the interview. Apart from my current job which follows the British curriculum, I also completed the Students Associates Scheme last year but this is not recent experience. Is it likely that my experience would be sufficient?

Finally, I've already sent off emails about this but I'm wondering if anyone here could tell me if providers normally allow an applicant to choose a date for their interview. Working full time 6000 miles away means that I may have some problems if I have to have an interview on a specific day.

I realise that answers to my questions may vary depending on which unis I apply to but any advice is welcome. Thanks.

2. Hi notnek,