1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Personal Reading in English

Discussion in 'Scotland - curriculum' started by Fiona409, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a secondary English teacher and there have been conflicting ideas concerning just how often pupils should be doing private reading in class.
    Some members of my department believe that pupils should only be reading during school time once a fortnight so that there is more time to produce essays.
    I would personally prefer my pupils to read once a week and focus more on their skills. The Curriculum for Excellence suggests that pupils should regularly read for enjoyment. So just how much is "regularly"? Any clarification would be appreciated!

Thanks
    F

2. Hi,
    I am a secondary English teacher and there have been conflicting ideas concerning just how often pupils should be doing private reading in class.
    Some members of my department believe that pupils should only be reading during school time once a fortnight so that there is more time to produce essays.
    I would personally prefer my pupils to read once a week and focus more on their skills. The Curriculum for Excellence suggests that pupils should regularly read for enjoyment. So just how much is "regularly"? Any clarification would be appreciated!

Thanks
    F

3. Flyonthewall75

Flyonthewall75 New commenter

In a primary classroom most children will be encouraged to read for enjoyment every day, although I appreciate that may be more difficult in a secondary school setting for organisational reasons.
    A lot also depends on the nature of the child. Some can be very easily distracted, whilst others can become absorbed in a good book even in a busy classroom environment.