1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pension/saving money while teaching abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Mrs_St, Nov 13, 2018.

1. Mrs_St

Mrs_St New commenter

Hi guys! I have been teaching in Shanghai for over 2 years now and have no plans of going back to the UK. Recently I have been thinking about my retirement. While in the UK, I had a teacher pension scheme through the local council, which stopped since I moved to work in China. I know I can pay back the NI contributions to get the minimum pension. However, I am worried that that will not be enough. How are teachers working overseas investing money or saving towards their retirement? TIA

TeacherPure likes this.
  2. willow78

willow78 Occasional commenter

Property and over paying as much as I'm allowed.

TeacherPure likes this.
  3. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Please search the forum. You'll find many opinions and even some guidance.
    Andrew Hallam is mentioned regularly, and not always by me.

4. makhnovite

makhnovite Established commenter

I recommend you do it!

5. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Correct me if I am wrong, but the general consensus on the "Teaching Overseas" forum is yes, carry on paying your NI contributions. Then you will, eventually, get your State Pension, assuming that it has not been scrapped by the time you get to 65 or 70 or 75 or whatever. Oh yes and it also helps if you can stay alive, if you want to receive it.

No, you cannot pay into your Teacher's Pension if you are overseas. You used to be able to do this, but not anymore. You could make some "top up" contributions, if you were to return to teaching in the UK.