1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

pension opt out...how? effects?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by bigbluehat, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Hi,
    Has anyone opted out of the teachers pension scheme? What happens and how long does it take and is it possible to rejoin later, say after a few years of not being in it. I've been teaching for 8 years and I'm 38. What happens to the benefits you would have accrued if you stop and start it?

The thing is, I am a single mum of two with no other income except my wages and I am worried about when the new pension deal starts as I can't afford to pay the extra on top of my student loan. Sounds a bit dramatic, but I'm so worried.

Thanks for any help in advance!

2. DM

DM New commenter

Don't consider this - it really would be the worst mistake you have ever made in your life.

3. But i dont think i will have much choice. Asfar as I know, you cannot pay less than the set amount that the student loans people take out of your wages. It is the only thing I can budge. Why would it be the worst thing, what would happen?

4. DM

DM New commenter

It is likely you will spent about 30 years in poverty regretting your decision. I would be very surprised if there is nothing else you could "budge". Have you made a detailed and accurate list of your monthly outgoings?

5. DM

DM New commenter

Assuming you earn £26,000 gross (a complete guess) you need to make a budgetary saving of £3.60 per week next year, another £3.60 per week the following year and an additional £1.80 per week the year after (total £9 per week). I'm hoping that isn't as bad as you feared.

6. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

You really do need to get proper advice on this.