1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pension help!

Discussion in 'Scotland - education news' started by Eloise22, May 24, 2019.

1. Eloise22

Eloise22 New commenter

Just posting for help. I'm hitting 40 this year so maybe this is why I'm starting to worry about my pension...

In truth, I have no idea when I can retire/what my pension will be etc, even when I look at the SPPA website. I have been teaching since 2003 and paying in to a pension since then but the old/new pension systems are confusing me. Anybody found an accurate way to work out their pension or is it more a case of waiting until nearer retirement age?

Thank you in advance for any advice!

2. bigjimmy2

bigjimmy2 Established commenter

Go on to the SPPA site again. They have a predictor option where you can type in dates and see what you get at particular ages.

You can retire at any age from 55, obviously at reduced pension from normal retirement age, which will be about 85 for you . . .

I've been looking at it in great detail in recent months!

Eloise22 likes this.
  3. Marisha

Marisha Occasional commenter

Apparently, they always predict lower than the amount you actually get. That's certainly what happened to me.

Eloise22 likes this.
  4. Eloise22

Eloise22 New commenter

Thanks big Jimmy, I'll have a look at the website for this. Might make for depressing reading though

bigjimmy2 likes this.
  5. Eloise22

Eloise22 New commenter

Fingers crossed! Ive never worried about my pension much before now. It's definitely the approach of the dreaded 40 that's doing it...

Marisha and bigjimmy2 like this.
  6. bigjimmy2

Yes, look. And look frequently.