1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Penpal project for the UK?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by penpalproject, Jul 9, 2017.

?

Would you volunteer your class for a UK-based pen-pal project?

1. Yes

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Not sure

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. penpalproject

penpalproject New commenter

Hello all,

I joined this forum to canvas the opinion of primary school teachers for a project I'm thinking of developing. I'm a graduate in her 20s who has worked and volunteered across the UK charity sector over the last few years. I would like to start a pen-pal scheme that links schools within the UK up to each other. I'm aware that individual schools approach each other here (for example) if they're looking for other schools to connect with, but I'm wondering if a single project is needed that can cater to schools who would like to establish pen-pal projects with others in the UK.

My motivation behind this comes from the idea that many people in England (where I'm from - I can't speak for Scotland, Wales and NI) don't know what it's like to live somewhere different from where they are in their own country. This is a relatively normal and natural thing of course, but personally I think it's having a detrimental effect on the nation at large. Whilst most places in the UK are warm, inclusive communities, it feels this is at times under threat by ever-growing divides and attacks between communities that differ culturally, politically and socio-economically.