1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pen and Paper

Discussion in 'Education news' started by PeterQuint, Jun 29, 2019.

1. PeterQuint

PeterQuint Lead commenter

I’m not sure if this is what this area was intended for, but here goes.

Why do schools insist on almost all of the students produce being done by pen and paper.

In my life, even as a teacher, I use IT in its various guises to do almost everything.

We wouldn’t need to fill schools with the best, most up to date computers. Very basic stuff, word, excel, something for maths.

If I were to shape change for the future in schools, this would be a starting point.

When I think of the exercise books, worksheets, information sheets, and text books which students must go through, year in year out, it’s ridiculous. Not to mention the environmental impact.

Sally006 likes this.
  2. catbanj

catbanj Occasional commenter

Money. Pure and simple.

3. blazer

blazer Star commenter

And reliability. The school full of shiny IT in September becomes stockrooms full of broken stuff by Christmas.

4. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

pen and paper is vital for learning. You can't so it on computer until you can do it by hand. As a dyslexc, I have followed very closely the fate of those students who are allowed to use word processing throughout their secondary career. It holds back their intellectual development. i have seen this for years, now it is being widely recognised. You can't learn organise your thoughts the same way on a computer, or to see the overall picture. You can't learn to read write either, and limit your reading.