1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PE Teaching....

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by apwayland, Nov 2, 2015.

1. apwayland

apwayland New commenter

I graduated in 2007, and have since been in school support roles which have been well paid, but I feel now, with 3 young children I would like to explore stepping up into a teaching role.

As a sports coaching graduate, one of the issues in the past which as put me off is being only able to be a pe teaching - not because of the subject but because it is a highly subscribed course. I have a couple of friends who are PGCE qualified but can find jobs, one in the south and one in East Anglia, this also worries me.

Would any recommend PE teaching to me? Best routes in? Are the employment myths and actually are there plenty of opportunity.

Being 34, I am at that stage where I now want to commit, I have to do a resit in Maths (have a D) and then I would be looking to apply. Its that, or walk away from schools and find an entry level job which would have prospects.

Thanks for reading.

2. varcolac

varcolac Occasional commenter

Hope you like not seeing your children. PE teachers at my school do so much extracurricular stuff and matches across three sports after school that I'm amazed they have time for friends, let alone families.

3. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

Where are you in the country? Unlike someone who is twenty-something with no commitments, you probably can't move for a job. PE is ultra-ultra competitive. The experience of others is probably the norm. IF as well you can't commute for a long distance because of kids you may well find yourself snookered.