1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PE teaching - meant to be doing athletics need to ensure all children are active and engaged.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by cathyevans84, Jun 12, 2016.

1. teapot24

teapot24 New commenter

Hi I am a trainee and have been asked to teach year 1 outdoor PE athletics but am stuck for ideas about what we can do that enables all children to be active and engaged in lesson - with races there is always a lot of standing around cheering while waiting for your turn. Any ideas?

2. pcsmush

pcsmush Occasional commenter

Athletics is more than just running. You have throwing and jumping to also consider when planning for athletics. PE lessons need to always have a focus and I personally wouldn't be happy to present my CTM with a lesson based around races.

When I was a student I had to plan for three classes, so it was easier for me to plan activities where everyone was involved as there were 5 stations with 17-18 children taking part in each activity.

Have you thought about planning a lesson around skipping? It fits with the jumping criteria of athletics and it also is a good topic to show progression in a lesson.

gingerhobo48 and cathyevans84 like this.
  3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Do relay type races.
    Teams and 'winner' is not necessarily first to finish but first to be sat down ready for the next race.

Just seen pcmush' s suggestion yes stations is another way to do it. each station has a different activity. 5 mins at each and then move on.
    Keeps them on their toes and not 'standing around'.

I think you're thinking too much Secondary Athletics, which you probably remember from school.