1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PE Teacher or Sports Coach Discussion

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by DMorris90, Oct 15, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a 4th year student at Bournemouth University studying Sports Development and Coaching Sciences currently working on my dissertation.
    I am in the process of deciding whether follow the path of PE teaching or sport coaching as a career, so I have decided to base my dissertation around this subject;
    What are the reasons behind career choice between PE Teaching and Sports Coaching.
    I am just looking for a few opinions on this area, differences, similarities and anyones personal experiences and decisions.
    Thank you,
    Dan

2. Do you like children is a good start?

3. bigfatgit

bigfatgit Occasional commenter

If you say, "No", do you get the job?

4. The coaching job, yes.

5. Why would you say that?
    I am a part time coach and love children? Guessing you are teachers yourself?
    Why did you decide to go into teaching?
    As coaching and teaching are the same! or do you think differently?
    Dan

6. I misunderstood your question - if I was to going into coaching professionally, it would be to move away from children. I thought that was what you meant.
    I teach PE throughout Primary abnd Secondary. I also coach ex-curric to both.
    They are similar but the differentiation is different - I expect to be able to build on certain levels of skill in coaching (specific skill for a players position etc) whereas teaching can be more gradual, general and the differentiation more demanding.
    You do not coach a team in a PE lesson, at least not in the same detail you would a 'team'.

7. stopwatch