1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PE in Scotland

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by popey45, Jul 27, 2016.

1. popey45

popey45 New commenter

Hi All

My wife and I are looking to relocate with our children from Hertfordshire to the Scottish Highlands and I am keen to know a little more about the life of a PE teacher north of the border. I have been teaching PE for 10 years at the same school and have a wealth of middle-leader experience from both HoD and HoY perspectives. The location is quite open for us, but ideally locations within reach of the Cairngorms would tick all of our boxes.

My main questions are these: -
    • Is it more difficult for those qualified outside of Scotland to secure work?
    • Is it better to be registered with the GTCS before beginning application processes?
    • Are there many differences in the requirements on PE staff between the 2 locations? I already undertake the usual PE commitments with clubs, teams and fixtures, but do the arrangements for these differ much in the Highlands and surrounding areas?
    • What new sports might it be worth me getting under my belt to aid applications - I am aware that Shinty is pretty popular in some areas, along with potentially mountain biking and skiing depending on location too.
    I appreciate that this is a rather info-heavy request but any advice will be very gratefully received. This is a long-term project for us to complete our relocation.

Yours hopefully

Popey

2. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter