1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

PCET PGCE - does it allow me to teach at secondary level too?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by CharlotteLC89, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I have recently been accepted onto a PCET PGCE to train to teach English. This course will begin in September this year. I am really looking forward to beginning the course and this is definitely the career path I wish to follow. However, I am looking for some advice...
    I have a 1st class degree in English, and am currently working towards an MA in Colonial & Postcolonial Literature. I do work experience in a local college once a week and have been building up my experience in FE since September 2011. I have previous experience of English mentoring in HE also.
    Recently, friends of mine who began their secondary PGCE's in September 2011 have been beginning the job application process and one of them has done really well to secure a job for this coming September. However, this job is to teach both GCSE and A Level, despite having no experience of teaching the latter.
    I have been informed that I will not be able to teach GCSE level and will be restricted to FE when I complete my training. Is this true - or is it possible to switch between sectors? Surely, if an NQT trained in secondary education can teach A Level, it can work the other way around as well?
    Teachers whom supervise me on my weekly work experience continue to tell me there are no jobs in the FE sector at the moment. I have contacted the Programme Leader of my PCET PGCE and questioned her about this - to put my mind at rest and reassure myself that jobs will be available to me when I complete my PCET PGCE.